Hebrews 3- Unbelief and Hardening our Hearts Against God

 That is why the Holy Spirit says,

“Today when you hear his voice,
    don’t harden your hearts
as Israel did when they rebelled,
    when they tested me in the wilderness.
There your ancestors tested and tried my patience,
    even though they saw my miracles for forty years.
10 So I was angry with them, and I said,
‘Their hearts always turn away from me.
    They refuse to do what I tell them.’
11 So in my anger I took an oath:
    ‘They will never enter my place of rest.’”[e]

12 Be careful then, dear brothers and sisters.[f] Make sure that your own hearts are not evil and unbelieving, turning you away from the living God. 13 You must warn each other every day, while it is still “today,” so that none of you will be deceived by sin and hardened against God. 14 For if we are faithful to the end, trusting God just as firmly as when we first believed, we will share in all that belongs to Christ.”

This one hits close to home, hardening our hearts against God.  It does seem at times that the older we get, and the tougher we have to be with the world, that we harden out hearts towards the Lord as well.

It is hard to keep a soft pliable heart, but it is so important to God.

Praying that the Lord will help keep my heart soft towards Him…..

Bringing my heart in prayer and silence and solitude before Him now….

Leave a Reply

